Get Rec’d with Amanda – Volume 21

This is where I talk about some of the recommendations I’ve given in the past couple weeks. Sometimes, I even get a recommendation from other people or see a funky new book on the shelves at the bookstore and just want to put it on your radars. And if anyone is wondering whether working at a bookstore is bad for your TBR pile and your wallet (even with staff discounts), the answer is yes!

  • Hello, Molly!

    I love Molly Shannon, as I grew up watching 90s SNL reruns a lot. I recommend this one to a person who loves audiobooks and has been on a celebrity memoir kick. Warning for this one as it deals a lot with parental death.

    A candid, compulsively readable, hilarious, and heartbreaking memoir of resilience and redemption

    At age four, Molly Shannon’s world was shattered when she lost her mother, baby sister, and cousin in a car accident with her father at the wheel. Held together by her tender and complicated relationship with her grieving father, Molly was raised in a permissive household where her gift for improvising and role-playing blossomed alongside the fearlessness that would lead her to become a celebrated actress.

    From there, Molly ventured into the wider world of New York and Los Angeles show business, where she created her own opportunities and developed her daring and empathetic comedy. Filled with behind-the-scenes stories involving everyone from Whitney Houston to Adam Sandler to Monica Lewinski, many told for the first time here, Hello, Molly! spans Molly’s time on Saturday Night Live–where she starred alongside Will Ferrell, Adam Sandler, Cheri Oteri, Tracy Morgan, and Jimmy Fallon, among many others. At the same time, it explores with humor and candor her struggle to come to terms with the legacy of her father, a man who both fostered her gifts and drive and was left with the impossible task of raising his kids alone after the loss of her mother.

    Witty, winning, and told with tremendous energy and heart, Hello, Molly!, written with Sean Wilsey, sheds new and revelatory light on the life and work of one of our most talented and free-spirited performers.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is available from:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in
    our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Margarita in Retrograde

    Margarita in Retrograde by Vanessa Li

    Not so much of a recommendation, but this one caught my eye at the bookstore. Admittedly, I love anything astrology related and combine that with some tasty cocktail creations and I may just have to buy this one for myself.

    Unique and dangerously drinkable cocktail recipes for every astrological sign, so the stars can guide your imbibing as much as they do the rest of your life

    The movements of the heavens have the power to rule our lives—from who we date or how we express ourselves to when we make career moves or whether we make that big purchase. Why shouldn’t we let them rule how we drink as well?

    Featuring everything from chili-infused tequila for the adventurous Aquarius to an espresso-based cocktail for the unstoppable Virgo, these recipes will give you the tools you need to pay tribute to the sign of your choice, whether you love that sign, hate that sign, or are that sign. With names such as Sorry I Ghosted You, What’s My Age Again?, and Pillow Talk, and featuring ingredients ranging from gummy bears and CBD drops to star anise and oat milk, these tempting cocktails have been expertly tailored to every sector of the zodiac, with four recipes dedicated to each sun sign plus more for various cosmic events. Witty, wise, and welcoming to cocktail makers of all levels, Margarita in Retrograde is a loving tribute and essential resource for every enlightened mixologist.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is available from:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in
    our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Nettle & Bone

    Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher

    With her signature mix of the grim and the delightful, award-winning author T. Kingfisher takes the old bones of fantasy and fairytale and makes them into something entirely new in this enchanting adventure.

    After years of seeing her sisters suffer at the hands of an abusive prince, Marra—the shy, convent-raised, third-born daughter—has finally realized that no one is coming to their rescue. No one, except for Marra herself.

    Seeking help from a powerful gravewitch, Marra is offered the tools to kill a prince—if she can complete three impossible tasks. But, as is the way in tales of princes, witches, and daughters, the impossible is only the beginning.

    On her quest, Marra is joined by the gravewitch, a reluctant fairy godmother, a strapping former knight, and a chicken possessed by a demon. Together, the five of them intend to be the hand that closes around the throat of the prince and frees Marra’s family and their kingdom from its tyrannous ruler at last.

    Nettle & Bone is the kind of book that immediately feels like an old friend. Fairytale mythic resonance meets homey pragmatism in this utterly delightful story. It’s creepy, funny, heartfelt, and full of fantastic characters I absolutely loved!” —Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is available from:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in
    our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Once Upon a K-Prom

    Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho

    I’m honestly the K-Pop and K-Drama upswing didn’t hit fiction as hard as I thought it would. However, we had a customer come into the store looking for recommendations for a friend who loves Korean dramas and pop music and I pulled this one for them. They wound up buying it, which always delights my bookseller heart.

    What would you do if the world’s biggest K-pop star asked you to prom? Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon, this hilarious and heartfelt novel brings the glamour and drama of the K-pop world straight to high school.

    Elena Soo has always felt overshadowed. Whether by her more successful older sisters, her more popular twin brother, or her more outgoing best friend, everyone except Elena seems to know exactly who they are and what they want. But she is certain about one thing – she has no interest in going to prom. While the rest of the school is giddy over corsages and dresses, Elena would rather spend her time working to save the local community center, the one place that’s always made her feel like she belonged.

    So when international K-pop superstar Robbie Choi shows up at her house to ask her to prom, Elena is more confused than ever. Because the one person who always accepted Elena as she is? Her childhood best friend, Robbie Choi. And the one thing she maybe, possibly, secretly wants more than anything? For the two of them to keep the promise they made each other as kids: to go to prom together. But that was seven years ago, and with this new K-pop persona, pink hair, and stylish clothes, Robbie is nothing like the sweet, goofy boy she remembers. The boy she shared all her secrets with. The boy she used to love.

    Besides, prom with a guy who comes with hordes of screaming fans, online haters, and relentless paparazzi is the last thing Elena wants – even if she can’t stop thinking about Robbie’s smile…right?

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is available from:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in
    our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Checkout latest world news below links :
    World News || Latest News || U.S. News

    Source link

    The post Get Rec’d with Amanda – Volume 21 appeared first on WorldNewsEra.

    Tags :